2017 Dancing with our Stars a Success

And the Winners Are…

Desert Diamond Casinos & Entertainment 2017 People’s Choice Award: Dr. Nancy Sweitzer


Swing: Don Yager (audience choice and judges choice)

Tango: Dr. Nancy Sweitzer (audience choice);

Salsa: Vanessa Palestino (audience choice); Tina Jennings (judges choice)

Thank You to Our Supporters

Thank you to everyone who came out to dance for diapers and support their very brave friends. The night dazzled and entertained while competitive dancing for a great cause brought in just over $60,000 to provide diapers and incontinence supplies for infants, toddlers, disabled adults and elders in our community.

Thank you to Our Sponsors

People’s Choice Award Sponsor: Desert Diamond Casinos & Entertainment: Thank you to former stars CEO Andy Asselin, Libby Francisco, Treena Parvello, Michael Morgan, and Frank Espino.

Gold Sponsors: Tucson Medical Center. We thank CEO Judy Rich, 2016 DWOS Chair Julia Strange, and former Stars Manny Aguirre, Michael Duran, and Linda Wojtowicz.

Bronze Star Sponsors: Frances Chapin Foundation, Hughes Federal Credit Union, Vantage West Credit Union, SaVon Flowers, Tucson Foundations, and Intuit.

Thank you to Our Stars

Don Yager from Intuit, T VanHook from Habitat for Humanity, Kevin Gebert of Holualoa Companies, Robert Ramirez from Vantage West Credit Union, Independent artist Katharine Ramirez, Nancy Sweitzer of the Sarver Heart Center, Michael Griffis from Tucson Medical Center, Sam Burns from Agape Hospice & Palliative Care, Suzanne McFarlin from Greater Tucson Leadership, Vanessa Palestino from Pure Barre, Tina Jennings from the Morning Blend, and Alma Parra from Focus HR.

Thank you to Our Professional Dancers

Ramona Daniel, Sarah Warren, Mick Milligan, Andrew Piorkowski, Miro Tymosiak, Zhenya Dokuchaeva, Peter Lisanti, Jade Lewis, Matt Kellar, Rene Celaya, and Amanda Skaff.

Thank you to Our Dance Studios

Mystic Rhythms, Studio West School of Dance, Shall We Dance, Tucson Movement Arts, Dream Dance Tucson, Milligan Dancesport LLC, Miro Dance Studio, and Renegade Ballroom.

Thank you to Our Event Committee

Rachele Peterson, Co-Chair, Griselda Martinez, Co-Chair, Dan Moxley, Executive Director, Rhonda Nielsen, Johanna O’Dell, Danielle Gartner, Oscar Parra and Alissa Murphy

Thank you to Our Judges

Jenell Maranto, Terry Schmoyer, and Joseph Rodgers.